In the lead up to the Portsmouth Book Awards, the final discussion and voting event took place in the library on Monday the 8th of May.

The pupil group discussed the shortlisted books that they had chosen and had to vote on their top three books, as did all the other schools around Portsmouth who are taking part in the event. 

The pupils will then attend the Celebration Event at the Historic Dockyard on 14th June to meet the winning author.  Also, our nominated (secret) reading champion will hopefully win Portsmouth’s Reader Of The Year.  Mayfield has won Reader Of The Year for the past two years and hopefully our winning streak will continue. 

A big thank you and well done to the pupils who have taken part in the awards:
Annabel Derry
Emily Martin
Owen Lashley
Liam Rogers
Madison Webb
Maddison Headland
Lia Breeze-Jones
Coral Ormston
Tiana Fray
Emilia Loake
Many thanks,
Miss Groom and Mrs Groom

Tags: LRC, Portsmouth Book Awards